Mommy Friends

Before I had my children I didn’t have a lot of female friends. I did have my very close female friends that mattered to me most. As I got older the friendships thinned out and few remained.

Then I got pregnant.

The husband and I moved to a new neighborhood and then we had the twins. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with myself. I started meeting neighbors and a whole network started forming. I started to have friends. Yes, women friends.

My mother in law always talked about her “patio ladies.” They were a group of women from her neighborhood that got together to drink some wine and talk about whatever was going on in their lives. They get together once a month or so just to spend time with one another. It sounded great for her but I wasn’t sure that I wanted it for myself.

It turns out I did.

I joined a neighborhood book club and BAM I started to meet these amazing women. They all have their own stories and personalities that I love. We get together once a month and talk about books and whatever is going on in our lives. We do talk about our kids and parenting but we also drink a lot of wine, eat a lot of snacks, and complain about things that annoy us. I love it. I cherish it. I crave it.

I’ve also made some great new friends. One of which invited me over just this morning for a nice hot cup of coffee, because let’s face it I never get one of those anymore. The kids got to play together and we talked. It was also a quality ADULT conversation that I so crave while being a stay at home mom.

Quality mommy friends are a must I have learned. The world of mommy-hood is not something you should explore alone. There are just things that daddy-folk just don’t understand. We need “our people” to help us feel like there is someone else to help us navigate and keep us from wanting to throw our children outside. We want to know that there is someone else who feels like they need to have a whole bottle of wine for dinner one night or want to lock themselves in the bathroom just to pee in peace.

Please mommy-folk find your people and bond. They are some of the most important friendships.

Leave a Reply

